Lost Password

Torn Boys’ Archival Release “1983” Drops Today with a Nostalgic Look Back

Independent Project Records proudly announces the release of “1983,” the seminal album from Torn Boys, the early ’80s post-punk quartet hailing from Stockton, California. Featuring Jeffrey Clark, Kelly Foley, Duncan Atkinson, and a young Grant-Lee Phillips at 19, this ten-track archival collection brings almost all the known recordings from the band into the public domain for the first time.

A Treasure Trove of Post-Punk History

“1983” offers a comprehensive set of rare and previously unreleased studio and live tracks that chronicle the brief yet vibrant existence of Torn Boys. Known for their unique blend of dreamscape lyricism with synth-driven rhythms and eclectic guitar textures, the band’s members went on to shape the sounds of groups like Shiva Burlesque, Gary Young’s Hospital, and Grant Lee Buffalo.

Multimedia Experience

The album is available in multiple formats including digital, compact disc, and a visually striking trio of black, white, and green vinyl. Both physical editions come with a special all-region DVD, featuring never-before-seen live recordings and freshly created music videos for tracks like “May Day,” “Lady Luck,” and “See Through My Eyes.” These videos incorporate newly unearthed archival footage and are available for viewing on the IPR YouTube page, giving fans a glimpse into the band’s dynamic stage presence and aesthetic.

Torn Boys' Archival Release

Celebrating in Stockton

To mark this momentous release, a record-release party is set to take place at Goodwin Gallery in Stockton, California, on April 26, from 5:30pm to 8:30pm. The event will feature DJ Dana Gumbiner spinning tracks, screenings of Torn Boys videos, and exclusive merchandise from both the band and other Stockton-bred artists from Independent Project Records.

Fan Engagement and Critical Acclaim

The release was prefaced by a Bandcamp Listening Party, providing a platform for fans to engage directly with Jeffrey Clark, Kelly Foley, Duncan Atkinson, and Grant-Lee Phillips, offering an immersive first listen of the album. Critics have already taken note of the album’s standout tracks, with Strutterzine highlighting the synth punk pop vigor of “See Through My Eyes” and the experimental live sounds of “Mystery,” likening them to iconic acts like The Cure, Joy Division, and Talking Heads.

The 1983 track list

The album features a mix of studio and live recordings that showcase the band’s experimental edge and musical versatility:

  1. See Through My Eyes
  2. Radio Intro
  3. Mystery (Live, KDVS)
  4. Fountain of Blood
  5. New Drums
  6. May Day
  7. Mack the Knife (Live, KDVS)
  8. Torn
  9. And Now (Live, Blackwater Café)
  10. Lady Luck

The bonus DVD enriches the album with four music videos, adding a visual dimension to the auditory experience.

“1983” not only captures the essence of a fleeting yet impactful era in music but also serves as a homage to the pioneering spirit of Torn Boys. Dive into this rich tapestry of California’s neo-psychedelic, New Wave-era post-punk scene, available now.

Share This Post

Related Posts


    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Thanks for submitting your comment!