Madonna, Ne-Yo, Chris Brown, Pussycat Dolls, Taylor Swift, Tokio Hotel, Jordin Sparks, Lil Wayne, Katy Perry, Danity Kane and Miley Cyrus ‘2008 VIDEO MUSIC AWARDS’ Nominees For ‘Best New Artist’ and ‘Best Dancing in a Video’

MTV once again asked viewers to help determine nominees for the “2008 MTV Video Music Awards” and they came through with flying colors and did not disappoint. This Friday on FNMTV the videos that made the cut for “Best New Artist” and “Best Dancing in a Video” were revealed and the diverse nominees range from German rockers Tokio Hotel ( to legendary superstar Madonna to teen sensations Miley Cyrus ( and Taylor Swift As previously announced, MTV’s 25th annual Video Music Awards will be hosted by comedian/actor Russell Brand and will air live and only one time in its original incarnation, on Sunday, September 7, 2008 at 9PM (Live ET/Tape Delayed PT). Lil Wayne ( and the Jonas Brothers ( have already been confirmed to perform at this year’s show. Presenters and additional performers for the “2008 VIDEO MUSIC AWARDS” will be announced at a later date.

The “2008 MTV Video Awards” nominees for “Best New Artist” include Jodin Sparks ( and Katy Perry (, who have both already received deserving nods for “Best Female Video.” Also up for “Best New Artist” are German quartet Tokio Hotel, who are already vying for a “Best Pop Video” award, singer-songwriter Taylor Swift and Miley Cyrus. Artists up for “Best Dance in a Video” are the multi-talented Ne-Yo (, Chris Brown (, Danity Kane (, Pussycat Dolls ( and a woman who has received several VMA nominations in the past, Madonna (, who received a nod for her “4 Minutes” video, featuring Justin Timberlake ( and Timbaland (


Each Friday night at 8pm ET/PT on “FNMTV” (,” two new categories are announced and opened for viewers to vote for their favorite artists and videos at or from their Verizon Wireless mobile phone by texting the name of the artist to 23882. Categories currently open for viewers voting are “Best Rock Video” and the always highly anticipated “Video of the Year.”


The Year of the Gentleman
Def Jam
Director: Ms Melina

Madonna featuring Justin Timberlake & Timbaland
"4 Minutes"
Hard Candy
Warner Brothers Records
Director: Jonas & Francois

Chris Brown
Exclusive The Forever Edition
Jive/Zomba Label Group
Director: Joseph Kahn

Pussycat Dolls
"When I Grow Up"
Doll Domination
Interscope Records
Director: Joseph Kahn

Danity Kane
Welcome To The Dollhouse
Bad Boy Records
Director: Syndrome

Jordin Sparks with Chris Brown
"No Air"
Jordin Sparks
19/Jive/Zomba Label Group
Director: Chris Robinson

Katy Perry
"I Kissed A Girl"
One Of The Boys
Director: Kinga Burza

Taylor Swift
"Teardrops On My Guitar"
Taylor Swift
Big Machine Records
Director: Trey Fanjoy

Tokio Hotel
"Ready, Set, Go!"
Cherrytree/Interscope Records
Director: Warwick/Haering

Miley Cyrus
7 Things
Hollywood Records
Director: Brett Ratner

Official sponsors of “2008 VIDEO MUSIC AWARDS” are GM, Pepsi, TAG Body Spray, Taco Bell, Rhapsody and Verizon Wireless.

This year, one lucky viewer will get the chance of a lifetime trip by joining “Do Good. Go to the VMAs.”, MTV’s online community for youth activism, is hooking up one young activist and shipping them off to Los Angeles to attend the 2008 MTV Video Music Awards alongside the biggest stars in the industry. From July 24th through August 22nd, all members who join the “Do Good. Go to the VMAs” group, at, can enter to win two tickets to the VMAS on September 7, 2008 along with travel and hotel accommodations when MTV takes over Los Angeles for this year’s show.

Jesse Ignjatovic/Den of Thieves is the Executive Producer, for the “2008 MTV VIDEO MUSIC AWARDS.” Dave Sirulnick is Executive Producer. Chris Choun/Ish Entertainment is Co-Executive Producer. Jane Mun is Producer. Amy Doyle, Joanna Bomberg and Robin Katz are Music Talent Executives. Robin Reinhardt-Locke is Celebrity Talent Executive. Garrett English is Executive in Charge of Production.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: