The Star-Studded 2009 TV Land Awards Honors Don Rickles, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, ‘M*A*S*H,’ ‘Married With Children,’ ‘ER,’ ‘Home Improvement,’ ‘Magnum P.I.,’ Sid and Marty Krofft, ‘Two And A Half Men,’ ‘Knots Landing’ and Earth, Wind & Fire

It was an unforgettable and star-studded evening as celebrities from television, film and music came out tonight for the taping of the 2009 TV Land Awards which premieres on Sunday, April 26th at 8 p.m. ET/PT on TV Land during a special presentation of TV Land PRIME. Appearances included Will Ferrell, Matthew McConaughey, Martin Sheen, Teri Hatcher, Amy Poehler, Jimmy Kimmel, Cyndi Lauper, Angela Bassett, Reba McEntire, Jamie Lee Curtis, Dr. Phil McGraw and more. This year’s honorees included Don Rickles (Legend Award), Julia Louis-Dreyfus (Lucille Ball Legacy of Laughter Award), “M*A*S*H” (Impact Award), “Married With Children” (Innovator Award), “ER,” (Icon Award), “Home Improvement” (Fan Favorite Award), “Magnum P.I.” (Hero Award), Sid and Marty Krofft (Pop Culture Award), “Knots Landing” (30th Anniversary Award), “Two and a Half Men” (Future Classic Award), and Earth, Wind & Fire (Entertainer Award).

The gala event featured unforgettable moments such as Jimmy Kimmel’s hilarious and touching tribute to legendary Don Rickles and Teri Hatcher’s memories of her guest appearance on “Future Classic Award” series winner “Two and a Half Men.” In an ironic and witty tribute, Dr. Phil McGraw presented the cast of “Married With Children” with “The Innovator Award,” and Martin Sheen presented the cast of “M*A*S*H” – including Alan Alda and Loretta Swit — with “The Impact Award.” Movie star and leading man Matthew McConaughey presented the always debonair Tom Selleck and the cast of “Magnum P.I” with “The Hero Award,” and critically-acclaimed funk band Earth, Wind & Fire received “The Entertainer Award” from Angela Bassett.

Other memorable moments included:

    --  An entertaining videotaped parody/show open by host Neil Patrick Harris
which took him through his own version of "The Twilight Zone,"
traveling through TV hits spanning from "The Dick Van Dyke
Show," "The Love Boat," "The Tonight Show with
Johnny Carson," "Happy Days" - featuring an appearance by
Marion Ross, "Baywatch" and finally "Survivor" where
he comes face to the show's host Jeff Probst.

    --  A heartwarming taped tribute to Don Rickles by close friend and fellow
icon Bob Newhart.

    --  A rousing medley performed by honorees Earth, Wind & Fire of their

    --  Will Ferrell's presentation and Cyndi Lauper and Clint Black's
amazing musical tribute to "Pop Culture Award" winners Sid and
Marty Krofft.

    --  Amy Poehler's tribute to the talented and hilarious Julia

    --  Neil Patrick Harris's performance of the song "I'll Take
TV," written by acclaimed Academy Award-nominated composer Marc
Shaiman ("Hairspray" and "Sleepless In Seattle.")

The tribute awards included the following:


Jimmy Kimmel presented multi-talented Don Rickles, the world’s most beloved “outrageous comic,” actor and author with the Legend Award. This award is presented to an entertainer or a television show that has stood the test of time and ranks among the most memorable and celebrated in television and movie history.


Presented by Amy Poehler, this award is presented to an entertainer whose comedic work continues to serve as an inspiration and a guiding force. This year’s recipient is Julia Louis-Dreyfus. The recipient of the Lucille Ball Legacy of Laughter award serves as an ideal appreciation to those who have provided the invigorating healing power of laughter. The first recipient to have received such an award was Lucille Ball for her awe-inspiring work which continues to set a precedent for those who receive this great honor.


Martin Sheen presented this award this award to “M*A*S*H,” a show that offered both entertainment and enlightenment, always striving for humor and humanity, with comedy that reflected reality. Sheen presented the award to the cast – Alan Alda, Mike Farrell, Allan Arbus, Jeff Maxwell, Kellye Nakahara-Wallet, Loretta Swit, Mike Farrell, Wayne Rogers, William Christopher, producers Burt Metcalfe, Gene Reynolds and Larry Gelbart.


Dr. Phil presented this award to “Married with Children,” a series whose influence is still felt and evident in television today. This award is most exemplified by a show that carved out new territory, re-defining elements of the genre and opening pathways for others to follow. Cast members Ed O’Neill, Katey Sagal, Christina Applegate, David Faustino and Ted McGinley.


“ER,” one of television’s longest running dramas, will be presented the Icon Award by Neil Patrick Harris for the way that it changed television with its fast-paced steadi-cam shots as well as for its amazing and gritty storylines. The Icon Award is presented to a television program with immeasurable fame and longevity. The show transcends generations and is recognized by peers and fans around the world. Cast members Alex Kingston, Anthony Edwards, Angela Bassett, Linda Cardellini, Ellen Crawford, Lily Mariye, Kellie Martin, Mekhi Phifer, Paul McCrane and Yvette Freeman accepted the award.


Presented by Jamie Lee Curtis, The Fan Favorite Award is given to an All-American classic that won the hearts of television viewers, with characters who became our friends, stories we could all relate to and irresistible laughs. The 2009 Fan Favorite is “Home Improvement.” Tim Allen, Patricia Richardson, Richard Karn, Debbe Dunning, Zachary Ty Bryan and Taran Noah Smith all accepted the award.


Matthew McConaughey presented the cast of “Magnum P.I.” — Tom Selleck, Roger Mosley and Larry Manetti — with The Hero Award. This salutes a show whose crime-solving feats were astounding, yet remained thoroughly authentic, offering equal parts of street smarts, wit and charisma – in this case, all wrapped up in floral prints.


Will Ferrell presented Sid and Marty Krofft with the Pop Culture Award, which is presented to a producer whose body of work has crossed the line from ordinary to pop culture status. The tribute also included a performance by Cyndi Lauper as well as Clint Black and Barry Williams (“The Brady Bunch”) and characters from their famous series including “H.R. Pufnstuf” and “Sigmund and The Sea Monsters.”


Presented by Reba McEntire, “Knots Landing’s” will be given The Anniversary Award as one of the longest-running primetime soap-operas in television history, celebrating its 30th Anniversary. With its unpredictable storylines, intriguing characters and surprising plots, it charmed audiences and critics alike while creating a pathway for future programs. McEntire presented to the cast – Donna Mills, Joan Van Ark, Kevin Dobson, Lisa Hartman-Black, Michele Lee, Michelle Phillips, Ted Shackleford, William DeVane, Constance McCashin, David Jacobs and Don Murray.


Presented by Teri Hatcher, this award was unveiled by TV Land in 1998 and is presented annually to a show that best exemplifies the qualities of a television show that will stand the test of time and become a television classic. “Two and a Half Men” is this year’s recipient of the Future Classic Award. Stars Charlie Sheen, Jon Cryer, Holland Taylor, Angus T. Jones, Conchata Ferrell, series creator/executive producer Chuck Lorre and producer Mark Burg accepted the award.


Angela Bassett presented this award to Earth, Wind & Fire’s Verdine White, Philip Bailey and Ralph Johnson. This award is given to a series or entertainer whose talent is unmatched and whose fame and longevity are immeasurable. From the beginning, Earth, Wind & Fire brought popular music something new and thrilling – a jazzy, soulful uplifting spirit all their own. Their work transcends generations and is recognized by peers and fans all over the world.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: