“The Superstars,” based on ABC’s classic “Wide World of Sports” series of the same name, teams eight professional athletes and eight celebrities at the spectacular Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas to compete for the title of The Superstars Champion. “The Superstars” airs TUESDAY, JULY 21 (8:00-9:00 p.m., ET) on the ABC Television Network.

The team pairings are Terrell Owens & Joanna Krupa; Jeff Kent & Ali Landry; Robert Horry & Estella Warren; Bode Miller & Paige Hemmis; Kristi Leskinen & Maksim Chmerkovskiy; Lisa Leslie & Dan Cortese; Jennifer Capriati & David Charvet; and Brandi Chastain & Julio Iglesias, Jr.

ESPN’s John Saunders is the host, former NFL player and past competitor in “The Superstars” Warren Sapp is a correspondent, while Jenn Brown serves as the field reporter.

Event highlights in “Episode 105”:

Teams will take to the Bahamian waters to compete head to head on watercrafts with the first team to finish the course wins.

Suspense mounts as teams will have 5 arrows to try and score as many points as possible with 5 targets of various sizes. The smaller the number teams aim for, the bigger the target.

Teams will compete head to head on an identical course, a 36-foot wall climb at Atlantis. Once a team ascends to the top, they will have to hit their button to signal their teammate to begin the climb up. First team to the top wins.  

“The Superstars” past winners include football stars Herschel Walker in 1987 and Jason Sehorn in 1998, decathlete Dave Johnson in 1993 and Olympic skier Bode Miller (who makes his return this year) in 2002.

“The Superstars” is produced by Juma Entertainment and Blue Entertainment Sports Television (BEST). Robert Horowitz, president, Juma Entertainment, Lewis Fenton, head of production, Juma Entertainment, Dennis Spencer, executive vice president, BEST and Michael Principe, managing director, BEST, are the executive producers. The series airs with Spanish subtitles via secondary closed captioning. A TV parental guideline will be posted closer to airdate.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: